Default databases in SQL Server

Piotr Kononow - Dataedo Team Piotr Kononow 2018-09-17

Table of Contents:

    Article for: SQL Server MySQL

    On every SQL Server instance there is a number of default system databases. Those are"

    • master - keeps the information for an instance of SQL Server.
    • msdb - used by SQL Server Agent.
    • model - template database copied for each new database.
    • resource - read only database that keeps system objects that are visible in every database on the server in sys schema.
    • tempdb - keeps temporary objects for SQL queries.

    View in SSMS.

    There are no comments. Click here to write the first comment.

    By continuing to use our website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy (updated 28-04-2020).